Rumor has it they lived happily ever after…

possible-image-for-back-cover-3-bw

Drinking from the Fishbowl, 2017

I finished it. Well, it was finished on 12/30/2016then the next day I added that “one more thing,” which you know always happens

So I’m just telling you now, it’s finished.

I’ve been writing and fine tuning this novel for yearsto call it finished is scary to me. Very scary. In a good way. It’s a good feeling to get to this point. I can publish it nowor wait, sit on it, read it one more time to make sure I didn’t miss something stupid like leave out an end quote to a piece of dialogue (which I found one such thing a few days ago) or went crazy and let a run on sentence run on and on and on and I em dash’d, comma’d, and semi-colon’d the shit out of it (I would hope by now I snagged those buggers, but sometimes they get away because I liked it that way because I was channeling John Cowper Powys the day I wrote itdon’t ever complain about my overly long sentences until you read one of his books!)

The nice thing about booksthey’re not carved in stone, I can fix such things when I find them…

I’ve gotten past the “giddy” part of being doneit’s amazing that I’ve kept quiet for this long, now I’m sliding out of the dream and into the reality…

This photograph of the envelope and the mysterious note with the sewing needle pierced through it represents the last piece to the puzzle that was worked out this past week…and yes, when I went to crush the paper with the needle in it, I did jab the palm of my hand just like the character (Georgia Sullivan) in the book didshe screamed “One more damnable thing!” But I didn’t scream, I did say “Ow,” tho’. I just needed to make sureyou know. Georgia Sullivan has plenty to be upset about, she didn’t like that I dumped one more damnable thing on her. It might get used on the book cover (front or back), or it might not at allit’s under consideration. I’m wondering about a moody black and white cover…but we’ll see, the yellow legal paper idea is still in playthen I tried it in black and white…

fishbowl-cover-idea-bw-dsc06367-6-11-2016

It’s pretty coolI think. This is why I have my Fredhe’s the designer, not me. I give him what I got, and he will make suggestions, and a beautiful cover will come into being. I can’t let myself get too attached to images…

Of course, adding that one more damnable thing so recently has forced me to check, double check, follow the ripples that this new pebble tossed into the pond have causedI’ve been so immersed these last few days that the time is flying by and I’m stunned to see the sun setting when it seemed like I just got up and refilled my coffee, I’m still in my jammies and haven’t moved for hours…

I’ve written the dedications, I’ve updated my bio, I’ve got a start to an introduction or some sort of end note acknowledgement page thingI need to write a short synopsis thing for advertisingand advertisingandshit! Fuck damn it.

Good grief…

I need to do a lot of shit before I put it out thereit would be easy to just throw up my hands and say, “Oh screw, I’m going to read it one more time to make sure I crossed all my i’s and dotted my t’s—” (LOL!)

Honestly, it’s easier to dream about it than to deal with the reality of it.

I really need to let it go. It’s scary, but I can make the leap. I can do it…

Shhhdon’t move, you might scare it away…

I’ll let you know when it’s published!

 

 

One thought on “Rumor has it they lived happily ever after…

Leave a Reply

